Home > post > Thomas Sutpen and James Gatz

Thomas Sutpen and James Gatz

I can’t stop noticing so many similarities between Thomas Stupen and James Gatz or Gatsby. I love The Greay Gatsby because it paints a vivid picture of “The Jazz Era” in America. I also appreciate the character of Gatsby because he is such a mystery until the end of the novel. This is similar to Thomas Sutpen. Our knowledge of this character increases throughout the novel and we eventually are told of Sutpen’s past through different sources. However, we will never know what is actual fact and what are just details added throughout the years by those who knew him. Faulkner kinda leaves it up to the reader to judge Thomas Sutpen. Saying that he is a complex character is an understatement.

Both characters come from very poor backgrounds in which they abandon. They then dedicate their lives to becoming wealthy. Although the motivations for both characters are different and also the ways in which they go about creating their perfect life is different, I feel as though these characters are linked in some way. Gatsby wanted the riches to impress Daisy and Sutpen wanted it for himself. Actually, I don’t really know what motivates Sutpen.  I know he wanted to be rich but there has to be something else that drives him to go from having absolutely nothing to being a wealthy aristocrat. I would say he worked for his riches out of the pure desire to create this patriarch and have his name live on forever in Yoknapatawpha County, which it does, but for all the wrong reasons.

I love the similarities and I think it helps in deciphering the complexities of both characters.

Categories: post
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment